Opening Hours

Monday to Friday,
09.00 to 17.00 hrs

Address

Honorargeneralkonsulat von Barbados in Deutschland
Seitzstraße 9-11
D-80538 München

Tel. +49 (0)89 21 57 86 30
Fax +49 (0)89 21 57 84 23
E-Mail | Website

Postal address

Sixt SE
Büro Regine Sixt
Zugspitzstr. 1
82049 Pullach

Your contact for visa matters

High Commission von Barbados
1 Great Russell Street
London WC 1B 3ND
ENGLAND
Tel: +44 207 299-7150
Fax: +44 207 323-6872
E-Mail: london[at]foreign.gov.bb

Embassy of Barbados
166, Avenue Franklin
1050 Brussels
Belgium
Tel. +32 2 737 1171/1172
E-Mail: brussels[at]foreign.gov.bb
www: Foreign.gov.bb

In general, for the entry to Barbados up to a stay of 90 days for Germany and most countries NO visa is required.

However, it is possible that the entry requirements may change at short notice. Therefore, we recommend that you inform yourself about the regulations applicable to your country well in advance of your departure.

News

New Covid-19 Travel Protocols for Barbados available

At this point we have provided helpful initial information for you:

Please note that the Honorary Consulate General does not issue visas and can only provide general information.
For binding information and to apply for your visa, please contact the embassy in Brussels directly.

“Oh taste and see!
Great Barbados, I love thee!”

Charmaine J. Forde

A warm welcome

It is my great pleasure and honor to represent Barbados in Germany as Honorary Consul General! I wish to share my enthusiasm and passion for this Caribbean island state that is truly paradise on earth. I believe that this nation with its unique beauty and with its so many hospitable and committed personalities should be made even more well known in Germany and all over the world. 

For decades I have been totally committed to supporting Barbados and its inhabitants within the scope of my possibilities on the diplomatic, social, cultural, economic and touristic level. So, I see it as my task not only to help the citizens of this Caribbean state, but also all interested travelers, with my input, my actions and with bridge building. This in mind, I have always been able to connect with the right people and organizations so as to establish relevant relations to further my cause. Additionally, my work through the Regine Sixt Children's Aid Foundation is an extra component of my support. It focuses on helping disadvantaged children on the island to have a better future through concrete projects on site. 

I promise you that I will continue to represent the interests of Barbados in Germany with my full commitment. And I will also continue to inspire people all over the world with my enthusiasm for Barbados. I support and encourage everyone to experience the magic of this country first-hand!

Yours truly

Regine Sixt

Honorary Consul General of Barbados in Germany
Honorary Member of the Board of Trustees, Corps Consulaire
Senior Executive Vice President Sixt International Marketing
CEO of the Regine Sixt Children’s Aid Foundation “Drying Little Tears”

„This is definitely paradise on earth!
Barbados is a perfect example and a role model for the world.“

Regine Sixt

Honorary Consul General of Barbados

The Sixt family has been living their deep connection to Barbados since 1966 when their parents-in-law Hans and Erika Sixt got to know and love the Caribbean state. As of then, the family visits the island regularly. Regine and Erich Sixt also celebrated their honeymoon on Barbados. The deep attachment to this island and the close friendships with many Barbadians, or "bayans" as the inhabitants of the Caribbean island call themselves, were the determining factors that led to Regine Sixt becoming Honorary Consul of Barbados in Bavaria in 2000. In 2012 she advanced to the position of Honorary Consul General of Barbados in Germany. 

At Sixt SE, the mobility service provider, Regine Sixt is responsible for the Group's international marketing in more than 110 nations worldwide. The position as International President Marketing gives her many opportunities to promote Barbados far beyond the borders of Germany. 

The social and philanthropic commitment of Regine Sixt is demonstrated by concrete projects in Barbados. After all, the well-being of the smallest and weakest members of our society is a deep concern of hers. But also cultural projects like the annual Flower Show with the legendary Garden Festival are supported by her. Regine Sixt’s heart beats for Barbados - and with her hands she helps out wherever and whenever support for the Caribbean island and its inhabitants is needed. Regine Sixt was awarded the Barbadian Silver Crown of Merit National Award, for her many years of diplomatic, economic and philanthropic activities.

Awards: The Logical Consequence of Success
Regine Sixt is concerned with the results that her daily work achieves, not with awards. But the long list of worldwide honors for her social and economic commitment speaks its own language and honors the tireless efforts of the Honorary Consul General, entrepreneur and philanthropist:

List of Awards:

  • 2010: Citizen of the World, Hadassah International
  • 2010: Bavarian State Medal for Social Services, Bavarian State Ministry of Labour and Social Order, Family and Women
  • 2011: Bavarian Order of Merit, Bavarian Prime Minister
  • 2010-2011: Woman of the Year, World Travel Awards
  • 2011: Le Grand Prix de la Charte de Paris contre le Cancer, l´Association pour la Vie Espoir contre le Cancer (AVEC)
  • 2011: Travel Hall of Fame, Travel Industry Club
  • 2011-2013: The Golden City Gate, International Film Award
  • 2011: Senator h.c. of the Bundesverband Mittelständische Wirtschaft (BVMW)
  • 2012: World´s Leading Innovative Marketing, World Travel Awards
  • 2013: Charity Business Traveller Award
  • 2013: Charity Award, Mille Miglia
  • 2013: Woman Entrepreneur of the World Award, Femmes Chefs d'Entreprises Mondiales
  • 2013: Golden Victoria for Integration, Deutschlandstiftung Integration
  • 2014: Medal for Special Services to Bavaria in a United Europe
  • 2014: Hall of Fame, German Family Companies, Handelsblatt
  • 2014: Scopus Award, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • 2014: Munich Marketing Award, Marketing Club Munich
  • 2014: Business & Charity-Award, International Economic Forum, Baden-Baden
  • 2014: German Media Award - Media Personality of the Year (together with Erich, Alexander and Konstantin Sixt)
  • 2015: Victress Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2017: Medal of the Bavarian Constitution in Silver
  • 2017: Woman Entrepreneur of the Year, FCEM
  • 2017: Silver Crown Merit (SCM) - Nation Award, Barbados
  • 2017, 2018, 2020 The Golden City Gate, International Film Award
  • 2018: Hall of Fame, Manager Magazin
  • 2018: Monaco Jubilee Star, Abendzeitung
  • 2019: Seven Stars, Woman of the Year
  • 2019: Eagles Award for Humanity and Social Commitment

A large number of organizations consider themselves very fortunate to have attracted Regine Sixt as a member of their board of trustees and as a supporter.
This reflects the esteem in which she is held, but also the added value that she generates through her dedication to a wide range of initiatives.

  • Board of Trustees, Corps Consulaire
  • Board of Directors, Deutsche Zentrale für Tourismus DZT
  • Senator of the Bundesverband Mittelständische Unternehmen (BVMW)
  • Board of Trustees, American Austrian Foundation
  • Board of Trustees, L’Association pour la Vie Espoir contre le Cancer (AVEC), Paris
  • Board of Trustees, Bayerische Krebshilfe
  • Honorary Member of the Global Women in Business Advisory Council
  • Member of the Board of Governors of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Board of Trustees, Deutsche Sporthilfe
  • Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Hadassah Deutschland
  • Board of Trustees, Jerusalem Foundation
  • Member, Keren Hayesod
  • Board of Trustees, Philippas Engel
  • Supporter, Shoah Foundation
  • Board of Trustees, Tel Aviv Museum of Art Germany
  • Supporter, Israel Day, Germany
  • Supporter, WIZO
  • Board of Trustees, Yad Vashem Germany
  • Member, Association of Corporate Travel Executives ACTE
  • Member, Global Business Travel Association GBTA
  • Member, American Society of Travel Agents ASTA
  • Member, International Association of Travel and Tourism Professionals SKAL
  • Member, Verband Deutscher Unternehmer
  • Member, Deutschen Reise Verband DRV
  • Member, Travel Industry Club
  • Member, Foundation for Aids Research AMFAR
  • Member, Marketing Club Germany
  • Honorary Member, Ambassadors Club
  • Supporting Member, Business Professional Women
  • Member, Monaco Ambassadors Club

"Barbados is the jewel of the Caribbean.
I am very pleased to have been able to represent this wonderful island for many years.“

Regine Sixt

Barbados

Dream destination Barbados
Since 2018, Regine Sixt has had a prominent colleague who, like the German Honorary Consul General, is committed to Barbados on her travels around the world: Rihanna, as official special ambassador of Barbados, is probably the best-known representative of the Caribbean state today. As a pop star, fashion designer and entrepreneur, she embodies everything that Barbados stands for: rhythm, grace, success and the strength to follow a distinctive path. In her mission, Rihanna promotes education, tourism and investment for her home island. Together with Prime Minister Mia Mottley, she is committed to "reinventing Barbados." Under the motto Vision 2020, the whole nation is setting new impulses for cohesion and the future in a wealth of events, the We Gatherings.

Rihanna is a concrete advocate of this strong sense of unity: She grew up in modest circumstances in the capital city of Bridgetown. There she takes part in the colorful, traditional Crop-Over parade every year. Like thousands of her compatriots, she dresses up in spectacular and colorful carnival costumes and dances through the streets to the rhythms of Soca and Calypso. The name of this festival, which makes the island roar with steel bands and reggae, recalls the celebration of the island's greatest treasure for centuries: sugar cane. So, Crop Over was traditionally celebrated as soon as the cane harvest was finished. Sugar and the finest rum brought fame and wealth to the island, but it was earned on the backs of African slaves. The British colony abolished slavery in 1834, after bloody slave revolts. The island state finally gained independence in 1966. 

Since then, Barbados has developed in great strides: Today, the country ranks 56th in the Human Development Index, ahead of many European nations. Many things are being promoted in Barbados in an exemplary manner - be it sustainable tourism, education or cultural, social and economic development. The paradisiac island with the lushest tropical vegetation offers everything that makes a vacation a once-in-a-lifetime experience: Finest sandy beaches under palm trees along the turquoise sea. Sporting events ranging from golf to polo - each of them on five courses - to horse and bicycle races, and to spectacular diving and sailing regattas that take place all year round. UNESCO cultural heritage monuments provide a deep insight into the eventful history. With culinary highlights ranging from street food with the local specialty flying fish to romantic candlelight dinners on the beach, a truly delicious range of dishes is offered, usually accompanied by local rum punch and tropical fruit juices. The joie de vivre, openness and hospitality of the 280,000 Barbadians is best shown at the countless cultural festivals and religious celebrations of dozens of churches. These colorful people know that they are privileged to live in God's tropical garden - and they are very happy to share this privilege with everyone who visits the island!

Further information and event calendar:  

“Happiness does not become less but more if we share it.”
Regine Sixt

The Regine Sixt Children’s Aid Foundation

“Drying Little Tears”

Happiness is not a result from what you get from the world, but from what you contribute. "Giving back to society" is therefore a central focus in the life of Regine Sixt. 

In the year 2000, Regine Sixt not only becomes Honorary Consul of Barbados. She also establishes her Children's Aid Foundation. This soon becomes the official CSR program of SIXT SE. With its energetic team, with the committed board of directors including her sons Alexander and Konstantin Sixt, as well as with a widely-based board of trustees and thousands of company volunteers around the world, this foundation achieves great things: To date, 175 projects in more than 50 nations have been realized – also in Barbados. Regine Sixt personally helps to ensure a good future for the smallest and weakest members of our society. And the foundation also offers assistance when, for example, terrible suffering has to be alleviated after natural catastrophes caused by hurricanes.

Further information under https://drying-little-tears.org

Projects

Schoolhouse for Special Needs

The Schoolhouse for Special Needs of the WHIM 

Community Center in St. Michael is not just another educational institution. Beyond the parental home, children with special needs find a refuge here, where they can learn, develop and become independent in a safe environment.

The director of the project, Yasmin Vlahakis, has a big heart for children. Therefore, many years ago she made it her business to support children with special needs from socially deprived families through her work. Since 2008 she has been supported by seven very caring, committed and qualified teachers. The Regine Sixt Children's Aid Foundation "Drying Little Tears" financed the equipment of the existing library and the redesign of a container, which is to serve as a spatial extension of the facility.

St. Peter’s Parish School

Nearly 100 children find a place where they can grow and prosper at St. Peter's Parish School. The Children’s Aid Foundation was particularly involved in the construction of the new playground and the installation of sun shades, so that even the youngest children can play outside. The educational concept is based on “learning by doing". 

In addition to being educated in social and cooperative behavior, the youngest children also learn very practical skills: for example, they go to the market to shop with small change so as to learn how to handle money. Or they visit the zoo to get to know animals in real life and not only from books.

(copy 10)

Three hurricanes left a trail of devastation in the Caribbean in 2017. The Regine Sixt Children's Aid Foundation reacted promptly and organized first aid for the neighboring island of Dominica, which was particularly badly affected. Out of a base in Barbados, urgently needed relief supplies were transported to the crisis region by plane: In addition to 100 tarpaulins, which protect against heavy tropical rain after the loss of houses, 100 first aid kits, 100 water canisters, 200 sleeping bags, 200 fleece blankets, 200 solar lamps, 200 torches and 200 aluminum insulating mats were sent. A number of volunteers in Germany, Barbados and Dominica ensured the smooth transport of the aid, which quickly reached the neediest families and their children.

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9:00-17:00 Uhr

Adresse

Honorargeneralkonsulat von Barbados in Deutschland
Seitzstraße 9-11
D-80538 München

Tel. +49 (0)89 21 57 86 30
Fax +49 (0)89 21 57 84 23
E-Mail | Website

Postanschrift

Sixt SE
Büro Regine Sixt
Zugspitzstr. 1
82049 Pullach

Ihre Kontakte für Pass- und Visa-Angelegenheiten

High Commission von Barbados
1 Great Russell Street
London WC 1B 3ND
ENGLAND
Tel: +44 207 299-7150
Fax: +44 207 323-6872
E-Mail: london[at]foreign.gov.bb

Botschaft von Barbados
166, Avenue Franklin
1050 Brussels
Belgium
Tel. +32 2 737 1171/1172
E-Mail: brussels[at]foreign.gov.bb
www: Foreign.gov.bb

Generell gilt, dass für die Einreise nach Barbados bis zu einer Aufenthaltsdauer von 90 Tagen für Deutschland und die meisten Länder KEIN Visum benötig wird.
Es ist jedoch möglich, dass die Einreisebestimmungen sich kurzfristig ändern. Daher empfehlen wir, dass Sie sich rechtzeitig vor Ihrer Abreise über die für Ihr Land geltenden Bestimmungen genau informieren.
 

Aktuelles

Neue Covid-19 Reiseprotokolle für Barbados verfügbar

An dieser Stelle haben wir hilfreiche Erst-Informationen für Sie bereitgestellt:

Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Honorargeneralkonsulat keine Visa ausstellt und nur generelle Informationen erteilen kann.
Für verbindliche Auskünfte und für die Beantragung Ihres Visums wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die zuständige Botschaft in Brüssel.

“Oh taste and see!
Great Barbados, I love thee!”

Charmaine J. Forde

Herzlich willkommen

Es ist mir eine große Freude und Ehre, Barbados in Deutschland als Honorargeneralkonsulin repräsentieren zu dürfen! Ich hoffe, meine Begeisterung für diesen wahrhaft paradiesischen karibischen Inselstaat mit Ihnen teilen zu können. Denn diese Nation in ihrer einzigartigen Schönheit und mit ihren vielen so entgegenkommenden und engagierten Persönlichkeiten ist es wert, in Deutschland und in aller Welt noch viel bekannter zu werden. 

Seit Jahrzehnten setze ich mich im Rahmen meiner Möglichkeiten auf der diplomatischen, sozialen, kulturellen, wirtschaftlichen und touristischen Ebene dafür ein, Barbados und seine Bewohner zu unterstützen. So verstehe ich es als meine Aufgabe, den Bürgern des Karibikstaates, aber auch allen interessierten Reisenden, mit Rat und Tat zur Seite zu stehen und Brücken zu bauen. So konnte ich immer wieder die richtigen Ansprechpartner vermitteln sowie kulturelle, diplomatische und wirtschaftliche Beziehungen mit aufbauen. Zusätzlich arbeite ich mit der Regine Sixt Kinderhilfe Stiftung daran, in konkreten Projekten vor Ort benachteiligten Kindern der Insel eine gute Zukunft zu ermöglichen.

Ich verspreche Ihnen: Auch weiterhin werde ich mit vollem Engagement die Interessen von Barbados in Deutschland vertreten. Und ebenso werde ich Menschen in aller Welt für Barbados begeistern und sie dabei unterstützen, den Zauber dieses Landes unmittelbar erleben zu können. 

Ihre
Regine Sixt

Honorargeneralkonsulin von Barbados in Deutschland
Ehrenkuratoriumsmitglied des Corps Consulaire

Senior Executive Vice President Sixt International Marketing
Vorstandsvorsitzende der Regine Sixt Kinderhilfe Stiftung "Tränchen Trocknen"

„Das ist definitiv das Paradies auf Erden!
Barbados ist ein perfektes Beispiel und ein Vorbild für die Welt.“

Regine Sixt

Honorargeneralkonsulin Regine Sixt

Die Familie Sixt lebt die tiefe Verbundenheit zu Barbados, seit die Schwiegereltern Hans und Erika Sixt den Karibikstaat im Jahr 1966 kennen und lieben lernten. Seither besucht die Familie Sixt die Insel regelmäßig. Auch die Hochzeitsreise von Regine und Erich Sixt führte folgerichtig nach Barbados. Die tiefe Verbundenheit zu diesem Inselstaat und die engen Freundschaften zu vielen Barbadians, oder Bajans, wie sich die Einwohner der Karibikinsel selbst nennen, gaben den Ausschlag, daß Regine Sixt im Jahr 2000 Honorarkonsulin von Barbados in Bayern wurde. 2012 schließlich avancierte sie zur Honorargeneralkonsulin in Deutschland. 

Innerhalb des Mobilitätsdienstleisters Sixt SE verantwortet die Honorargeneralkonsulin das Internationale Marketing des Konzerns in weltweit mehr als 110 Nationen. Die Position als International Vice President Marketing verleiht ihr vielfache Möglichkeiten, auch Barbados weit über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus zu promoten. 

Das soziale und philanthropische Engagement von Regine Sixt wird durch konkrete Projekte in Barbados unter Beweis gestellt. Denn das Wohlergehen gerade der Kleinsten und Schwächsten unserer Gesellschaft ist ihr ein tiefes Anliegen. Aber auch kulturelle Projekte wie die jährlich stattfindende Flower Show mit dem legendären Garden Festival werden von Regine Sixt unterstützt. Ihr Herz schlägt für Barbados – und mit ihren Händen packt sie mit an, überall dort, wo Engagement und Unterstützung für die Karibikinsel und ihre Bewohner gefragt sind. Für ihre langjährige Tätigkeiten auf der diplomatischen, wirtschaftlichen und philanthropischen Ebene wurde Regine Sixt mit dem Silver Crown of Merit National Award ausgezeichnet. 

„Man gives you the award. But God gives you the reward.“
Denzel Washington

Auszeichnungen: die logische Folge von Erfolgen
Es geht Regine Sixt um die Resultate ihrer täglichen Arbeit, nicht um Awards. Doch die lange Liste weltweiter Auszeichnungen für ihr soziales und wirtschaftliches Engagement spricht eine eigene Sprache und würdigt den unermüdlichen Einsatz der Honorargeneralkonsulin, Unternehmerin und Philanthropin für die gute Sache:
Liste der Auszeichnungen:

  • 2010: Citizen of the World, Hadassah International
  • 2010: Bayerische Staatsmedaille für soziale Verdienste, Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Arbeit und Sozialordnung, Familie und Frauen
  • 2011: Bayerischer Verdienstorden, Bayerischer Ministerpräsident
  • 2010–2011: Woman of the Year, World Travel Awards
  • 2011: Le Grand Prix de la Charte de Paris contre le Cancer, l´Association pour la Vie Espoir contre le Cancer (AVEC)
  • 2011: Travel Hall of Fame, Travel Industry Club
  • 2011–2013: Das Goldene Stadttor
  • 2011: Senator h.c. der Mittelständischen Wirtschaft (BVMW)
  • 2012: World´s Leading Innovative Marketing, World Travel Awards
  • 2013: Charity Business Traveller Award
  • 2013: Charity Award, Mille Miglia
  • 2013: Woman Entrepreneur of the World Award, Femmes Chefs d'Entreprises Mondiales
  • 2013: Goldene Victoria für Integration, Deutschlandstiftung Integration
  • 2014: Medaille für besondere Verdienste um Bayern in einem Vereinten Europa
  • 2014: Hall of Fame der deutschen Familienunternehmen, Handelsblatt
  • 2014: Scopus Award der Hebräischen Universität von Jerusalem
  • 2014: Münchner Marketingpreis des Marketingclubs München
  • 2014: Business & Charity-Award des Internationalen Wirtschaftsforums Baden-Baden
  • 2014: Deutscher Mediapreis – Mediapersönlichkeit des Jahres (gemeinsam mit Erich, Alexander und Konstantin Sixt)
  • 2015: Victress Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2017: Bayerische Verfassungsmedaille in Silber
  • 2017: Woman Entrepreneur of the Year von FCEM
  • 2017: Silver Crown Merit (SCM) - Nation Award, Barbados
  • 2017, 2018, 2020: Das Goldene Stadttor
  • 2018: Hall of Fame, Manager Magazin
  • 2018: Jubiläumsstern der Münchner Abendzeitung
  • 2019: Seven Stars - Woman of the Year
  • 2019: Eagles Award für Menschlichkeit und Soziales Engagement

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”
Mahatma Gandhi

Eine Vielzahl von Organisationen schätzt sich glücklich, Regine Sixt als Kuratoriumsmitglied und Unterstützerin gewonnen zu haben. Dies reflektiert die Wertschätzung, die ihr entgegengebracht wird, sowie den Mehrwert, den sie durch Ihr Engagement für mannigfaltige Aufgaben generiert.

  • Kuratoriumsmitglied des Corps Consulaire  
  • Verwaltungsratsmitglied Deutsche Zentrale für Tourismus DZT
  • Senatorin des Bundesverbandes Mittelständischer Unternehmen (BVMW)
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied American Austrian Foundation
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied L´Association pour la Vie Espoir contre le Cancer (AVEC), Paris
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied der Bayerischen Krebshilfe
  • Honorary Member of the Global Women in Business Advisory Council
  • Member of the Board of Governors of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied der Deutschen Sporthilfe
  • Kuratoriumsvorsitzende von Hadassah Deutschland
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied der Jerusalem Foundation
  • Mitglied von Keren Hayesod
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied von Philippas Engel
  • Unterstützerin der Shoah Foundation
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied des Tel Aviv Museum of Art Deutschland
  • Unterstützerin des Israeltages in Deutschland
  • Unterstützerin von WIZO
  • Kuratoriumsmitglied von Yad Vashem Deutschland
  • Mitglied der Association of Corporate Travel Executives ACTE
  • Mitglied der Global Business Travel Association GBTA
  • Mitglied der American Society of Travel Agents ASTA
  • Mitglied der International Association of Travel and Tourism Professionals SKAL
  • Mitglied im Verband Deutscher Unternehmer
  • Mitglied im Deutschen Reise Verband DRV
  • Mitglied des Travel Industry Club
  • Mitglied der Foundation for Aids Research AMFAR
  • Mitglied Marketing Club Deutschland
  • Ehrenmitglied im Ambassadors Club
  • Fördermitglied von Business Professional Women
  • Mitglied des Monaco Ambassadors Club

"Barbados ist das Juwel der Karibik.
Ich freue mich sehr, diese wundervolle Insel schon seit vielen Jahren in Deutschland vertreten zu dürfen.“

Regine Sixt

Barbados

Traumdestination Barbados
Regine Sixt hat seit 2018 eine prominente Kollegin, die sich ebenso wie die deutsche Honorargeneralkonsulin auf ihren weltweiten Reisen für Barbados einsetzt: Rihanna ist als offizielle Sonderbotschafterin heute wohl die bekannteste Vertreterin des Karibikstaates. Als Popstar, Modeschöpferin und Unternehmerin verkörpert sie alles, wofür Barbados steht: Rhythmus, Anmut, Erfolg und die Kraft, einen unverwechselbaren Weg zu gehen. In ihrer Mission promotet Rihanna vor allem Bildung, Tourismus und Investitionen für ihre Heimatinsel. Gemeinsam mit Premierministerin Mia A. Mottley engagiert sie sich dafür, „Barbados neu zu erfinden.“ Unter dem Motto Vision 2020 setzt die ganze Nation in einer Fülle von Veranstaltungen, den We Gatherings, neue Impulse für Zusammenhalt und Zukunft.

Für dieses starke Wir-Gefühl steht auch Rihanna ganz konkret ein: Aufgewachsen in bescheidenen Verhältnissen in der Hauptstadt Bridgetown, nimmt sie dort jedes Jahr an den bunten, traditionellen Crop-Over-Paraden teil. Wie tausende ihrer Landsleute wirft sie sich dafür in spektakuläre karnevalesque Gewänder und tanzt zu den Rhythmen von Soca und Calypso durch die Straßen. Der Name dieses Festivals, das mit Steelbands und Reggae die Insel zum Dröhnen bringt, erinnert an den jahrhundertelangen größten Schatz des Eilands. Denn Crop Over wurde traditionell gefeiert, sobald die Zuckerrohrernte beendet war. Zucker und feinster Rum bescherten der Insel Ruhm und Reichtum, der allerdings auf dem Rücken afrikanischer Sklaven erwirtschaftet wurde. Die britische Kolonie schaffte die Sklaverei im Jahr 1834 ab, nach der blutigen Niederwerfung von Sklavenaufständen. Die Unabhängigkeit erlangte der Inselstaat schließlich 1966. 

Seither entwickelt sich Barbados in großen Schritten: Heute nimmt das Land im Human Development Index den 56. Rang ein, noch vor so mancher europäischen Nation. Vieles wird in Barbados vorbildlich vorangetrieben – sei es nachhaltiger Tourismus, Bildung oder kulturelle, soziale und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung. Die paradiesische Insel mit üppigster tropischer Vegetation bietet alles, was einen Urlaub zum Once-in-a-Lifetime-Erlebnis macht: allerfeinste Sandstrände unter Palmen am türkisen Meer. Sportevents von Golf und Polo – an jeweils 5 Plätzen - über Pferde- und Radrennen bis zu spektakulären Tauchgängen und Segelregatten finden das ganze Jahr über statt. UNESCO-Kulturerbe-Denkmäler gewähren einen tiefen Einblick in die bewegte Geschichte. Mit kulinarischen Highlights von Street-Food mit der lokalen Spezialität Fliegender Fisch bis zum romantischen Candellight-Dinner am Strand spannt sich ein wahrhaft köstlicher Bogen, meist begleitet von örtlichem Rum-Punch und tropischen Fruchtsäften. Bei den unzähligen kulturellen Festivals und den religiösen Feiern dutzender Kirchen zeigen sich Lebensfreude, Offenheit und Gastfreundschaft der 280.000 Bajaner am besten. Dieses bunte Volk weiß, daß es privilegiert ist, im tropischen Garten Gottes leben zu dürfen – und es teilt dieses Privileg gerne mit jedem, der hier ankommt!

Weitere Infos und Event-Kalender auf

“Das Glück wird nicht weniger, sondern mehr, wenn wir es teilen.”
Regine Sixt

Die Regine Sixt Kinderhilfe Stiftung

„Tränchen trocknen“

Glück resultiert nicht aus dem, was man von der Welt bekommt, sondern aus dem, was man ihr gibt. „Giving back to society“ ist demnach ein zentrales Anliegen im Leben von Regine Sixt. 

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2000: Regine Sixt wird nicht nur Honorarkonsulin von Barbados. Sie gründet die Regine Sixt Kinderhilfe Stiftung. Diese wird bald zum offiziellen CSR-Programm der Sixt SE. Mit ihrem tatkräftigen Team, dem engagierten Vorstand, welchem auch ihre Söhne Alexander und Konstantin Sixt angehören, sowie mit einem breit aufgestellten Kuratorium und mit weltweit tausenden freiwilligen Mitarbeitern des Unternehmens bewegt diese Stiftung Großes: Bisher konnten 175 Projekte in mehr als 50 Nationen realisiert werden – auch in Barbados. Regine Sixt packt hier selbst mit an, wenn es um eine gute Zukunft der Kleinsten und Schwächsten unserer Gesellschaft geht. Und auch wenn etwa nach Natur-Katastrophen akute Nothilfe benötigt wird hilft die Stiftung das Leid vor Ort zu lindern. 

Weitere Infos unter https://drying-little-tears.org

Projekte

Schoolhouse for Special Needs

Das Schoolhouse for Special Needs des WHIM Community Centers in St. Michael ist nicht einfach nur eine weitere Bildungseinrichtung. Jenseits der Elternhäuser finden hier Kinder mit besonderen Bedürfnissen einen Zufluchtsort, wo sie in einer sicheren Umgebung lernen, sich entfalten und ihre Selbständigkeit entwickeln können.

Die Leiterin des Projekts, Yasmin Vlahakis, hat ein großes Herz für Kinder. Vor vielen Jahren hatte es sie sich deshalb zur Aufgabe gemacht, Kindern mit besonderen Bedürfnissen aus sozial schwachen Familien durch ihre Arbeit zu unterstützen. Seit 2008 wird sie dabei durch sieben sehr fürsorgliche, engagierte und qualifizierte Lehrer verstärkt. Die Regine Sixt Kinderhilfe Stiftung „Tränchen Trocknen“ finanzierte die Ausstattung der vorhandenen Bibliothek und die Umgestaltung eines Containers, der als räumliche Erweiterung der Einrichtung dienen soll.

St. Peter’s Parish School

Fast 100 Kinder finden in der Kindertagesstätte St. Peter’s Parish School einen Platz, an dem sie wachsen und gedeihen können. Die Kinderhilfe Stiftung engagierte sich vor allem beim Neubau des Spielplatzes und beim Anbringen von Sonnenschutz, damit auch die Kleinsten im Freien spielen könnten. Das pädagogische Konzept lautet: „Lernen durch machen“.

Neben der Erziehung zu sozialem und kooperativem Verhalten erlernen die Kleinsten auch ganz praktische Dinge: sie gehen etwa mit Kleingeld auf den Markt zum Einkaufen, um zu lernen, wie man mit Geld umgeht. Oder sie besuchen den Zoo, um Tiere nicht nur aus Büchern kennenzulernen. 

Gleich drei Hurrikans hinterließen 2017 in der Karibik eine Spur der Verwüstung. Die Regine Sixt Kinderhilfe Stiftung reagierte prompt und organisierte über eine Basis auf Barbados Ersthilfe für die besonders stark betroffene Nachbarinsel Dominica. Dringend benötigte Hilfsgüter wurden per Flugzeug in die Krisenregion transportiert: Neben 100 Zeltplanen, die vor starkem Tropenregen nach dem Verlust von Häusern schützen, wurden auch 100 Erste-Hilfe-Sets, 100 Wasserkanister, 200 Schlafsäcke, 200 Fleece-Decken, 200 Solarlampen, 200 Taschenlampen sowie 200 Alu-Isoliermatten verschickt. Eine Reihe Freiwilliger in Deutschland, auf Barbados und auf Dominica sorgten für einen reibungslosen Hilfstransport, der bei den am meisten bedürftigen Familien mit ihren Kindern auch schnell ankam.